Enneagram Logo
The Enneagram is a personality framework that clusters people into nine types based on distinct fears, desires, and tendencies. Once you know your own Enneagram type, you’re better equipped to notice the automatic perceptions and behaviors that can mislead you, and you can make better, more fulfilling choices instead.
9 Personality Types
The Reformer
Type 1

Ones want to avoid being bad, corrupt, or defective.

They focus on doing good, improving themselves and others, being balanced, being objectively right, ensuring fairness, living up to their ideals, and striving for perfection to be beyond criticism. They want the best from themselves and others and become frustrated when neither lives up to their high standards.

At their best, they are discerning, conscientious, and noble, possessing pure integrity and driving positive change in the world.

Read more
The Helper
Type 1

Twos want to avoid feeling unworthy of love.

They focus on building strong relationships, adding practical value, advocating for others, being helpful and giving, being heralds of information, sharing their positive feelings for others, and rising to the occasion in times of crisis. They take pride in their own virtue and deny their own needs in favor of helping others.

At their best, they are selfless, sincere, and radiant, possessing deep compassion and garnering unconditional love from others.

Read more
The Achiever
Type 1

Threes want to avoid feeling worthless.

They focus on accomplishing their goals, triumphing over situations, getting affirmed for their achievements, being the best at what they do, being socially significant, distinguishing themselves, acting efficiently, and impressing others.

They’re driven by a need to be important, so they focus their efforts on achieving and succeeding to fill the void. At their best, they are self-assured, attractive, and esteemed, being role models for others and achieving consistent success.

Read more
The Individualist
Type 1

Fours want to avoid being without identity or personal significance.

They focus on expressing their true selves, finding meaning and inspiration, creating beauty in their environment, taking care of their emotional needs, and finding an ideal romantic partner. They feel something fundamental is missing within them that others seem to have, leading them to long for what is absent.

At their best, they are self-aware, perceptive, and truly original, highly in touch with their intuition and the depths of reality.

Read more
The Investigator
Type 1

Fives want to avoid feeling incapable and incompetent.

They focus on accumulating knowledge, building mental models, mastering areas of expertise, exploring reality, searching for the truth, and reducing their dependencies on others. They want to preserve internal resources to build competence, so they isolate themselves from others and retreat into their minds.

At their best, they are open-minded, objective, and visionary, perceiving the world as it truly is and making innovative discoveries.

Read more
The Loyalist
Type 1

Sixes want to avoid being without support or guidance.

They focus on finding sources of security, easing their anxiety, building support networks, gaining the trust and approval of others, testing others’ attitudes and intentions towards them, analyzing outcomes, and defending their beliefs. They want to feel a sense of certainty and stability, which causes them to be vigilant about possible future events.

At their best, they are trustworthy, genuine, and courageous, standing up for their values and using their foresight to protect others.

Read more
The Enthusiast
Type 1

Sevens want to avoid being deprived or trapped in pain.

They focus on having a variety of positive experiences, analyzing possibilities, learning new skills, escaping anxiety, winning competitions, enjoying themselves, and keeping their options open. They seek out stimulating experiences and ideas to feel satiated, which limits their ability to focus and be present.

At their best, they are vivacious, resilient, and truly free, quick-minded explorers whose high spirits infuse others with energy.

Read more
The Challenger
Type 1

Eights want to avoid feeling violated or controlled by others.

They focus on being independent, staying in control of their sphere, prevailing over situations and people, resisting inner weakness, asserting their will on their environment, and keeping others at a safe distance. They are driven by a need for raw intensity and independence, which devolves into antisocial behaviors.

At their best, they are resourceful, independent, and heroic, willing to bear the brunt of tough decisions and empowering others with their fortitude.

Read more
The Peacemaker
Type 1

Nines want to avoid loss and separation from those they care about.

They focus on having peace of mind, feeling connected to people and nature, having a positive impact on their sphere, creating harmony, preserving their routines, and seeing the best in others. They want to be unaffected by disruptions to their serenity, so they mentally detach from the world around them while appearing engaged.

At their best, they are humble, contemplative, and indomitable, able to truly understand other perspectives and bring about profound peace.

Read more
18 Personality Types
Enneagram Types Overview
In Blueprint, the combination of your type and your wing is called your “subtype.” If your base type is the main course that covers most of your personality, your wing is like a side dish that adds some flavor. The wing possibilities are located next to the type, on either side of it. For example, a type Nine can have either a One wing or an Eight wing, sometimes written as “9w1” and “9w8.”  Each type can only have one wing, resulting in 18 personality subtypes in the Enneagram. It’s common for a person to read about their type and find that it sounds mostly like them, but it’s too broad. It is often when they read the type/wing combination that they feel the description truly fits.
Another layer to your personality type is how your instinctual drives stack up. The are three different instincts that influence your feelings, actions, and perceptions: Self-Preservation, Relational (sometimes called “One-to-One” or “Sexual”), and Social.

Everyone has a balance of all three instincts within them, but their order (how they show up) affects our personalities. They tend to fall into a hierarchy where one is dominant, an area of over-focus or preoccupation; another is an area of balance and ease; and the last is an area of neglect or even a potential blindspot.

Enneagram Instincts
  • Desire for physical safety & comfort
  • Highly attuned to meeting their basic survival needs
  • Stay guarded against outside threats to their well-being
  • Take care of their bodies & minds
  • Seek positive home environment
  • Correlates with introversion
Enneagram Instincts
  • Desire for intense one-to-one connection (romantic or platonic)
  • Highly attuned to feeling alive
  • Embrace risk, adrenaline, romance, & thrill
  • Broadcast an attractive image
  • Want total involvement from the people around them
  • Seek to make their own personal stamp on the world
Enneagram Instincts
  • Desire to be an important, accepted member of society
  • Highly attuned to connecting with people who share their values
  • Cooperative & supportive
  • Seek a meaningful calling
  • More light-hearted & playful
  • Prioritize others’ well-being nearly as much as own
  • Correlates with extroversion